News

Apple WWDC 2018 invites make the June 4 keynote official, but drop no hints

The Apple WWDC 2018 keynote date and time are official today, with the Cupertino company sending out invites to members of the press.

The keynote will take place on June 4 at the usual time for Apple conferences: 10:00 am PT time. That’s Monday, 1pm ET and 6pm BST, or if you’re in Australia, Tuesday 3:00 am AEST.

Apple’s annual developer conference will be live streamed, so even if you weren’t able to get a WWDC ticket, you can watch all of the big announcements through a Safari (or Microsoft Edge, usually) browser.

Apple WWDC expectations

Today’s WWDC doesn’t drop the sort of hints we see on some Apple invites. This invite uses the same logo we’ve seen on the official WWDC 2018 website for months.

But we fully expect new software launches: iOS 12, macOS 10.14, watchOS 5 and tvOS 11.4. It’s become an annual tradition for Apple to launch new OS betas at (or shortly after) WWDC.

There’s a big mystery as to the iOS 12 features, with Apple said to be focusing more on reliability than a big redesign, given all of the iOS 11 problems there are today.

There’s also a good chance that Apple is debut new hardware here, too. It did, after all, use the venue to launch the HomePod, iMac Pro, iPad Pros 12.9 and iPad Pro 10.5 last year.

On the WWDC 2018 rumor roster are an unconfirmed MacBook Air 2018 refresh and maybe even the unveiling of the confirmed-for-2019- Mac Pro. 

There’s an outside chance Apple will refresh new iPad Pro 2018 models and launch a cheap, one-hand-friendly iPhone SE 2, but those announcements may wait for the usual September Apple conference.

Tags

Related Articles

Close
503 Service Unavailable

Service Unavailable

The server is temporarily unable to service your request due to maintenance downtime or capacity problems. Please try again later.

Additionally, a 503 Service Unavailable error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.